Tour de Yorkshire 2017

raluca 2017-01-12
17 people like this post

There will be 3 stage in the Tour de Yorkshire races that will start on 28 April and will end on 30 April. There will be one day of racing for women on Saturday. All stages, including the women’s race, will be live on television from start to finish.

Stage one will start in Bridlington on the east coast of the county and will end in Scarborough. There are three climbs on the stage, at Garrowby, Goathland, and Robin Hood’s Bay. The total length of the track is 173 km.

The second stage will start at Tadcaster. The finish line will be at Harrogate, and will be 122 km long. It will be shorter, but more complex than the first one. It will only have one classified climb at the middle of the stage, in comparison with the third stage which has 8 classified climbs.

The last stage will start at Bradford and will end at Fox Valley retail park. This is the longest stage of all three counting a total of 195.5 km long. Because of its enormous length it is called Yorkshire Terrier by the race organisers, featuring 8 classified climbs with over 3 km of climbing.

Last year the Tour de Yorkshire had three stages:
Stage one, Friday April 29, Beverley to Settle, 184 km
Stage two, Saturday April 30, Otley to Doncaster, 135.5 km
Stage three, Sunday May 1, Middlesbrough to Scarborough, 196 km

The Tour de Yorkshire was first held in 2015 and was won by Team Sky’s Lars Petter Nordhaug, and last year’s edition was won by Direct Energie Thomas Voeckler.

Category: Events
  • 0
  • 6202